About

The app MyFoodRepo

MyFoodRepo is an application developed by the Digital Epidemiology Lab at EPFL. This application allows users to easily track their food consumption. The app uses either the barcode or a photograph taked by the user couples with an image recognition algorithm to identify what the consumer is using:

  • To associate a barcode to a product, we use the Open Food Repo database. It is an open database that contains most of the food products with barcodes sold in Switzerland. For more information, you can visit the website www.foodrepo.org
  • To determine the content of raw or cooked food, we use machine learning algorithms, a way to process data to discover patterns that can later be used to analyse new data. The data that trains the algorithm in myFoodRepo is photos of food and drink. The image recognition algorithm that is implemented in this application is the current state of the art. By providing images, and by fixing mistakes in the suggestions made by the algorithm, the user contributes directly to its improvement.

The estimated nutritional content, i.e , the energy value and the main nutrients (Protein, Carbohydrates, Dietary fibres and Fat) are calculated with the swiss food composition database.

To accelerate progress in this area, all images are openly available by default (we make this large photographic database available to other researchers). No information about the users is publicly accessible. An option in the application settings enables the user to prevent image sharing.

MyFoodRepo was approved by the EPFL ethical committee in July 2017.

More information

A propos

L'app MyFoodRepo

MyFoodRepo est une application développée par le laboratoire d'épidémiologie digitale de l' EPFL. Cette application permet aux utilisateurs de suivre facilement leur consommation alimentaire. L'application utilise soit le code-barres, soit simplement la photo d'un plat couplée à un algorithme de reconnaissance d'images pour identifier ce que consomme l'utilisateur:

  • Pour associer un code à barres à un produit, nous utilisons la base de données The Open Food Repo. C'est une base de données en accès libre qui contient la plupart des produits alimentaires avec code-barres vendus en Suisse. Pour plus de renseignements, vous pouvez consulter directement le site www.foodrepo.org
  • Pour déterminer le contenu des aliments crus ou cuits, nous utilisons des algorithmes de machine learning. Le 'machine learning', qui se traduit littéralement par 'apprentissage de la machine' est un moyen de traiter les données pour découvrir des tendances qui peuvent être utilisées par la suite pour analyser de nouvelles données. Les données de l'algorithme dans MyFoodRepo sont des photos d'aliments et de boissons. En fournissant des images, et en corrigeant les erreurs dans les suggestions faites par l'algorithme, l'utilisateur contribue directement à l'amélioration de cet algorithme.

Le contenu nutritionnel estimé, c'est-à-dire la valeur énergétique et les principaux nutriments (protéines, glucides, fibres alimentaires et graisses) sont calculés à l'aide de la base de données suisse des valeurs nutritives.

Pour accélérer les progrès dans ce domaine, toutes les images qui sont prises avec l’application sont librement disponibles par défaut (nous mettons à disposition d'autres chercheurs cette large base de données photographique). Aucune information personnelle sur les utilisateurs n'est publiquement accessible. Une option dans les paramètres de l'application permet de désactiver le partage d'images.

L’application MyFoodRepo a été approuvée par le comité d'éthique de l'EPFL en juillet 2017.

Plus d'information