About

The scientific context

Personalized Nutrition

In recent years, it has become clear that what constitutes a healthy or unhealthy diet depends on the individual, giving rise to the concept of personalized nutrition. This approach uses information on individual characteristics to develop a targeted nutritional strategy, meaning that the diet is determined as a function of an individual’s biological status and lifestyle.
The goal of personalised nutrition is to preserve or increase health using genetic, phenotypic, medical, nutritional, or other relevant information about an individual to deliver tailored recommendations.
The observations supporting personalized nutrition are the following:

  • Response to dietary factors varies between individuals.
  • Personalised diets have more impact than general diets.
  • Personalisation supports long-term behaviour change.

In particular, the blood glucose responses to the same food differ among individuals. For example, a pear can raise the glucose level of one individual (blue individual in the figure), but a grape will keep it stable, whereas in another individual (green individual in the figure), it can be exactly the opposite.

Diagram: Science – Glucose Created with Sketch. Time (hours) Blood sugar level

Recently, it was shown that blood glucose levels are mainly the product of one’s dietary intake, lifestyle (including physical activity and sleep) and gut microbiota (or gut microflora).

I. Dietary intake and blood sugar levels

Glucose (a type of sugar) is the first source of energy used by the human body, it is the fuel of our body. Glucose is found in all carbohydrate-rich foods (pasta, cereals, bananas, grapes, candy, chocolate,...). Glucose can also be made by the body. During digestion, the carbohydrates in food are converted into glucoses. Glucose passes through the walls of the intestine and into the circulatory system (into the blood), which generally increases blood sugar levels by a few tenths (e. g. + 0.02). Rising blood glucose levels trigger the release of insulin . This hormone allows glucose to enter the cells by acting as a key. When the cells absorb glucose, blood glucose levels return to normal. Insulin and glucagon (another hormone) help to keep the necessary blood glucose level. It is also important to control blood sugar intake in order to get stable energy throughout the day.

II. Physical activity and sleep and blood sugar levels

The cells of physically active people respond to glucose differently compared to more sedentary people. Exercise stimulates complex molecular signalling pathways that facilitate glucose transport into the cell, so that the cells of physically active people absorb glucose from food more easily. The duration and timing of sleep duration also influence the metabolic pathway that regulates the glucose absorption.

III. The microbiome and the blood sugar level

What is the human microbiome?
glucose

The human microbiota is the sum of the living microorganisms (bacteria, fungi, archaea, and viruses) living in synergy on and within the human body. The microbiome is the genome of all these microorganisms. The microbiota is essential for human life.

For example, the microbiota contributes to the immune system and helps the body to defend itself from pathogens. The microbiota also has important functions for the neural, endocrine and digestive systems. Unlike the human genome, the microbiome of a person changes over time. In this project, we are interested in the gut microbiome as it plays a crucial role in human nutrition, energy, and metabolism.

How the gut microbiome affects digestion and blood sugar

The gut microbiota participates in food digestion in various ways, for example, by producing enzymes that the human body itself is not able to produce. These enzymes help to digest certain complex foods. 10-20% of our energy is absorbed with the help of the microbiota. The gut microbiota composition differs between individuals, for example between individuals from different geographical regions, and also between obese and non-obese people. A higher diversity of the microbiota is associated with a improved health status. On the contrary, a low diversity of the gut microbiota is associated with various diseases. By sequencing the microbiota (microbiome) we can identify its composition. To better understand how your diet affects your gut, watch this short video.

Blood glucose and health outcome

It remains challenging to provide solid evidence that supports the links between dietary intake, glucose response, and health outcomes. Evaluating the impact of a single dietary change on health is notoriously complex. However, there is consensus among the experts on the following:

  • Reducing the size and duration of rises in blood glucose after meals is particularly important for people with diabetes and chronically impaired blood glucose response is a risk factor for type II Diabetes.
  • Reducing the size and duration of rises in blood glucose after meals may also be of benefit to the general population. Research suggests that glycaemic response plays a role in weight management and Cardiovascular diseases.
  • Monitoring the glycaemic response of the diet should not be seen as a stand-alone strategy but rather as an element of an overall balanced diet and lifestyle.

FactFood

If you are interested in finding out more, please visit our partner website FactFood. Factfood.org provides scientifically valid information on questions relating to nutrition, along with comments and analyses from trained healthcare providers.

Metabolism and the menstrual cycle

Metabolism and the reproductive system are closely related and reciprocally/mutually regulated. The menstrual cycle is mostly regulated by the hormones of the reproductive system, estrogen, progesterone, prolactin, FSH and LH. These hormones also play a role in regulating metabolism. The metabolism hormones, such as Leptin, Insulin and Ghrelin, also impact the reproductive system. For example, 50% of women suffering from polycystic ovary syndrome (known as PCOS) are overweight or obese. The systems also interact in the other direction, for example obesity reduces fertility in men and women. Some researchers suggest that the blood glucose level rises more in the luteal (postovulatory) phases and others suggest that it rises more at the beginning of the cycle (during menstruation) than in rest of the cycle. In this project, we will have the opportunity to observe whether the glycemic response varies along the menstrual cycle.

Ovulation Menses Pre-ovulatory phase Post-ovulatory phase Mean blood glucose level Hormonal level Progesterone Estrogen

References:

  • Ordovas J., et al. ​ ​Personalised nutrition and health ​BMJ. 2018
  • Sadler M. Food, Glycaemic Response and Health. ILSI Europe Concise Monograph Series 2011:1-30
  • Grundy, S. M. Pre-Diabetes, Metabolic Syndrome, and Cardiovascular Risk. J. Am. Coll. Cardiol. 59, 635–643 (2012).
  • Nathan, D. M. et al. Impaired Fasting Glucose and Impaired Glucose Tolerance: Implications for care. Diabetes Care 30, 753–759 (2007).).
  • Zeevi ​ ​D, ​ ​Korem​ ​T, ​ ​Zmora ​ ​N, ​ ​Israeli ​ ​D, ​ ​Rothschild ​ ​D, ​ ​Weinberger​ ​A, ​ ​et ​ ​al. ​ ​Personalized Nutrition ​ ​by​ ​Prediction ​ ​of ​ ​Glycemic​ ​Responses. ​ ​Cell. ​ ​2015;163: ​ ​1079–1094
  • li>In VIVO magazine Chronique n°13, Bacteria: friend and foe
  • Röhling M, et al. ​ ​Influence of Acute and Chronic Exercise on Glucose Uptake ​Journal of Diabetes Research, vol. 2016, Article ID 2868652, 33 pages, 2016.

More information

A propos

Le contexte scientifique

Nutrition personnalisée

Depuis quelques années, il est devenu clair que ce qui constitue une alimentation saine ou malsaine dépend en partie de l'individu, ce qui a donné naissance au concept de la nutrition personnalisée. Cette approche se sert des caractéristiques individuelles pour établir une stratégie nutritionnelle ciblée, c'est-à-dire que le régime alimentaire est déterminé en prenant en compte la physiologie et le mode de vie de l’individu.
Plus spécifiquement, l'objectif de la nutrition personnalisée est de préserver ou d'améliorer la santé en utilisant des informations génétiques, phénotypiques, médicales, nutritionnelles ou d'autres informations pertinentes de l'individu pour proposer des recommandations 'sur mesure'.
Les observations qui justifient l'approche de la nutrition personnalisée sont les suivantes :

  • La réaction aux aliments varie en fonction des individus.
  • Les régimes personnalisés sont plus efficaces que les régimes généraux.
  • La personnalisation favorise des changements de comportement durables.

En particulier, la réponse glycémique , c'est-à-dire la variation du niveau de sucre (glucose) dans le sang, à un même aliment diffère d'une personne à l'autre, ce qui signifie qu'un aliment peut être bien adapté à une personne, mais pas à d'autres. Par exemple, une poire peut faire augmenter la glycémie (le taux de glucose dans le sang) d'un individu (individu bleu sur la figure), mais un raisin le gardera stable, alors que chez un autre individu (individu vert sur la figure), cet effet peut être inversé.

Diagram: Science – Glucose Created with Sketch. Time (hours) Blood sugar level

Des chercheurs ont montré que la glycémie est principalement régulée par le mode de vie c'est-à-dire l'alimentation (I) et l'activité physique et le sommeil (II) ainsi que le microbiote intestinal (flore intestinale) (III).

I. L'alimentation et la glycémie

Le glucose (un type de sucre) est la première source d'énergie utilisée par le corps humain, c’est le carburant de notre organisme. Le glucose se trouve dans tous les aliments riches en glucides (Pâtes, céréales, banane, raisin, bonbon, chocolat,...). Le glucose peut aussi être fabriqué par l'organisme. Lors de la digestion, les glucides des aliments sont convertis en glucose. Le glucose traverse les parois de l’intestin et pénètre dans le système circulatoire (dans le sang), ce qui fait généralement augmenter la glycémie de quelques dixièmes (par exemple + 0.02). L'élévation de la glycémie déclenche la libération d’ insuline. Cette hormone permet de faire entrer le glucose dans les cellules en agissant comme une clé. Lorsque les cellules absorbent le glucose, la glycémie revient à un niveau normal. L’insuline et le glucagon (une autre hormones) permettent de garder le niveau de glucose dans le sang nécessaire. Il est aussi important de maitriser l’apport glycémique afin de profiter d’une énergie stable tout au long de la journée.

II. L'activité physique, le sommeil et la glycémie

Les cellules des personnes physiquement actives réagissent au glucose différemment par rapport aux personnes plus sédentaires. L'exercice stimule les voies de signalisation moléculaire complexes qui facilitent le transport du glucose dans la cellule, donc les cellules des personnes physiquement actives absorbent plus facilement le glucose provenant de l'alimentation. La durée du sommeil et son timing influencent également la voie métabolique qui régule l'absorption du glucose.

III. Le microbiote et la glycémie

Qu'est-ce que le microbiote humain?
glucose

La totalité des micro-organismes vivants (bactéries, champignons, archées et virus) qui se trouvent à la surface et à l'intérieur du corps humain constitue le microbiote humain. Le microbiome est le génome de tous ces micro-organismes. Le microbiote est essentiel à la vie humaine.

Par exemple, le microbiote contribue au système immunitaire et aide l'organisme à se défendre contre les agents pathogènes. Le microbiote est aussi très important pour le fonctionnement du système nerveux, endocrinien (les hormones) et digestif. Contrairement au génome humain, le microbiome d'une personne change avec le temps. Le microbiote intestinal, communément appelé 'flore intestinale', joue un rôle crucial dans la nutrition, l'énergie et le métabolisme des individus, c’est pourquoi, dans ce projet, nous nous intéressons spécifiquement au microbiome intestinal.

Comment le microbiome intestinal influence-t-il la digestion et la glycémie?

Le microbiote intestinal, ou flore intestinale, participe à la digestion de diverses façons. Par exemple, les micro-organismes peuvent produire des enzymes que le corps humain lui-même n’est pas en mesure de produire qui vont permettre de digérer certains aliments complexes. 10-20% de notre énergie est absorbée à l'aide de ces micro-organismes. La composition de la flore intestinale diffère d'un individu à l'autre. Par exemple, il ne sera pas être le même entre des individus de différentes régions géographiques, et entre les personnes obèses et de poids normal. La diversité de la flore est associée à une bonne santé. Au contraire, la faible diversité du type de bactéries est associée à diverses maladies. Le séquençage génétique du microbiote (qui donnera donc le microbiome) permet de caractériser le microbiote en identifiant les espèces présentes. Afin de mieux comprendre comment votre alimentation affecte votre flore intestinale, regardez cette petite vidéo.

Glycémie et conséquence sur la santé

Il demeure difficile de réunir des données solides pour montrer les liens entre l'alimentation, la réponse glycémique et les conséquences sur la santé. L'évaluation de l'impact d'un seul changement de l'alimentation sur la santé est complexe, mais les experts s'entendent sur les points suivants :

  • La diminution de l’ampleur et de la durée de l'augmentation de la glycémie après les repas est particulièrement importante à atteindre pour les personnes atteintes de diabète et une hyperglycémie chronique après les repas est un facteur de risque pour le diabète de type II.
  • La diminution de l’ampleur et de la durée de l'augmentation de la glycémie après les repas peut également être bénéfique pour la population en général. Certaines études suggèrent que la réponse glycémique joue un rôle dans la gestion du poids et dans les maladies cardiovasculaires.
  • La modification de la réponse glycémique ne doit pas être considérée comme une stratégie unique, mais plutôt comme un élément d'un régime alimentaire et d'un mode de vie équilibrés.

FactFood

Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus, visitez notre site web partenaire FactFood. Factfood.org fournit des informations scientifiquement fondées sur des questions relatives à la nutrition, ainsi que des commentaires et des analyses de professionnels de la santé.

Métabolisme et cycle menstruel

Le métabolisme et le système de reproduction sont étroitement liés et réciproquement régulés. Le cycle menstruel est principalement régulé par les hormones du système reproducteur, soit, l'œstrogène, la progestérone, la prolactine, la FSH et la LH. Ces hormones jouent également un rôle dans la régulation du métabolisme. Les hormones du métabolisme, telles que la leptine, l'insuline et la ghréline, ont également un impact sur le système reproducteur. Par exemple, 50 % des femmes souffrant du syndrome de l'ovaire polykystique sont obèses ou en surpoids. L'interaction entre ces deux sytsèmes se fait également dans l'autre sens, on peut citer en exemple que l'obésité réduit la fertilité chez les hommes et chez les femmes. Certains chercheurs suggèrent que la glycémie augmente davantage après l'ovulation, tandis que d'autres suggèrent qu'elle augmente davantage au début du cycle (pendant les menstruations) que pendant le reste du cycle. Dans le cadre de ce projet, nous aurons l'occasion d'observer si la réponse glycémique varie au cours du cycle menstruel.

Ovulation Menses Pre-ovulatory phase Post-ovulatory phase Mean blood glucose level Hormonal level Progesterone Estrogen

Reférences:

  • Ordovas J., et al. ​ ​Personalised nutrition and health ​BMJ. 2018
  • Sadler M. Food, Glycaemic Response and Health. ILSI Europe Concise Monograph Series 2011:1-30
  • Grundy, S. M. Pre-Diabetes, Metabolic Syndrome, and Cardiovascular Risk. J. Am. Coll. Cardiol. 59, 635–643 (2012).
  • Nathan, D. M. et al. Impaired Fasting Glucose and Impaired Glucose Tolerance: Implications for care. Diabetes Care 30, 753–759 (2007).).
  • Zeevi ​ ​D, ​ ​Korem​ ​T, ​ ​Zmora ​ ​N, ​ ​Israeli ​ ​D, ​ ​Rothschild ​ ​D, ​ ​Weinberger​ ​A, ​ ​et ​ ​al. ​ ​Personalized Nutrition ​ ​by​ ​Prediction ​ ​of ​ ​Glycemic​ ​Responses. ​ ​Cell. ​ ​2015;163: ​ ​1079–1094
  • In VIVO magazine Chronique n°13, Bacteria: friend and foe
  • Röhling M, et al. ​ ​Influence of Acute and Chronic Exercise on Glucose Uptake ​Journal of Diabetes Research, vol. 2016, Article ID 2868652, 33 pages, 2016.

Plus d'information